top of page


The Prestigious Springfield Mile ran its first AMA national in 1937. From 1946 to 1953 the championship was determined by winning this one race. This is how Springfield became a must win race and the legend was born. The race ran annually from 1946 to 1966 during the Illinois State Fair.


In 1981 the Illinois Motorcycle Dealers Association (IMDA) convinced the city to let them bring back the race and it went so well that it returned as a national in 1982. It was their foresight and unrelenting determination that made the Springfield Mile possible. The IMDA members volunteered their time and efforts to build this race back to the quality event it is today. They quickly developed it into the annual holiday weekend tradition that now comes as an exciting double header event every Labor Day Weekend. Today the city welcomes the motorcycle enthusiasts and appreciates the business they bring with them.


Since the IMDA brought the mile back they have hosted 75+ mile national events at this legendary track. In 2022 the promotional duties will be handed over to Mees Promotions. Currently they promote the Historic Lima Half-Mile and plan to work passionately to keep this prestigious race going and continue the tradition for many years to come.


The rider with the most wins at The Springfield Mile is the legendary Scott Parker. He won it 14 times including when he came back after retirement in 2000 just to run this one race. Chris Carr is close behind him with 12 wins. Jared Mees, the currently active rider with the most wins added 2 more in 2021 to make it 7, just two behind the late, great “Mr. Springfield” himself, 3-Time GNC Champ Ricky Graham, who has 9 wins.

bottom of page